alt text
LHU News

LHU holds 59th annual Natural Sciences Convocation

Group photo of all of the award winners with President Pignatello.

Lock Haven recently held its 59th annual Natural Sciences Convocation on Friday, Nov. 8 in the Ulmer Hall Planetarium, on the campus of LHU. The program, sponsored and arranged by the departments of biological sciences, chemistry and geology and physics, celebrated the achievements of LHU science students.

The welcome was given by Dr. Thomas Wynn, professor in the geology and physics department, who also served as the emcee for the event. Opening remarks were given by Dr. Robert Pignatello, LHU president; and Dr. Jonathan Lindzey, dean of the College of Natural, Behavioral and Health Sciences.

Awards for academic achievement were presented to students in biological sciences, chemistry, geology, physics and nanotechnology. Students receiving awards were:

  • Maegan Miller, of Lock Haven, Intermediate General Physics Award, Principles of Biology Award and Principles of Chemistry Award
  • Tanner DePalma, of Easton, Physics I & II Award
  • Grier Sayers, of Warminster, Sara M. Barr Memorial Scholarship
  • Jack Showalter, of Bellwood, Principles of Geology Award
  • Laurel Moyer, of Lock Haven, John Way Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Kelly Whitty, of Renovo, Advancement in Geology Award and Deborah Suder Scholarship
  • Adam Orcutt, of Williamsport, Dr. Donald and Linda Green Geology Scholarship
  • Abby Rea, of Philipsburg, Biology Honors Award
  • Jacob Adam, of Coplay, Hunter-Harnishfeger Award
  • Jessica Cover, of Millersburg, Paul F. & Shirley R. Klens Biology Scholarship
  • Collin Wesley, of Bellefonte, Mary Pursell Award in Genetics
  • Madison McKeown, of Grampian, Alfred Hoberman Chemistry Scholarship
  • Grace Roberts, of Manheim, Alfred Hoberman Chemistry Scholarship
  • Samuel Hogan, of Halifax, Kleinman Scholarship
  • Kayla Elliott, of Lock Haven, Kleinman Scholarship
  • Emily Robb, of Millersville, Organic Chemistry Award

The keynote speaker was Dr. Peter Wilf, paleobotanist and professor of geosciences at Penn State University. He uses fossil plants to investigate ancient ecosystems, past environmental change and the evolution and extinction of terrestrial life, while emphasizing connections to modern climate change and biodiversity. Significant field areas for his international research program include southern Argentina, western U.S., the Malay Archipelago, Australia and Panama. Wilf’s research and teaching have earned him recognition as a David and Lucile Packard Fellow, Fellow of the Geological Society of America, Fellow of the Paleontological Society, Michigan Fellow and Paleontological Society distinguished lecturer.

The convocation committee was chaired by Dr. Thomas Wynn, and also included Cheryl Karstetter and Drs. Indrajith Senevirathne, Brent May, Kurt Rublein, Jennifer Bandura and Jennifer Deitloff.

For more information on Lock Haven University, visit, email, or call 570-484-2011. 

Sign-up for LHU’s new monthly newsletter, LHU & You, to get all of your updates on The Haven and the Lock Haven community. Click here to sign up.

Lock Haven University’s main campus is located on the West Branch of the Susquehanna River in the scenic mountains of Pennsylvania. The university offers 49 undergraduate majors and certifications with 47 minors and five graduate programs.

LHU is a member of Pennsylvania’s State System, the largest provider of higher education in the Commonwealth. Its 14 universities offer more than 2,300 degree and certificate programs in more than 530 academic areas of study. Nearly 520,000 system alumni live and work in Pennsylvania.

Questions About the Article?

Executive Director of Strategic Communications

Elizabeth Arnold
213 Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center
(570) 484-2293

Contact our Admissions Office

8:00am to 4:00pm Monday-Friday
(570) 484-2027

Connect with Admissions Online

Not PrinceFaxMail PhoneSearchFacebook GitHub InstagramKickStarterLinkedInPinterestRedditRSSTumblrTwitterVineWordPressYouTube