alt text
LHU News

LHU Health and Physical Education Students Earn Honors


The Lock Haven University Department of Health and Physical Education (HPE) held its annual awards ceremony May 1st at the Lock Haven University Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center.  Parents, families, friends, faculty and staff attended to see HPE students recognized for accomplishments with awards and scholarships.  Dean Susan Rimby and President Michael Fiorentino, Jr. were in attendance as well. Dean Rimby, who is retiring in June, was recognized and thanked for her support of HPE during her tenure at the university. HPE Department Chair Paul Ballat shared, “I am extremely proud of all of our scholarship and award winners.  Their accolades serve as a reminder of Lock Haven University’s long-standing tradition of producing top-notch HPE teaching candidates. I look forward to their continued contributions to our profession.”

The following awards and scholarships were presented:

Outstanding Freshman: Katie Geyer and Jace Kreamer 

Outstanding Sophomore: Alexis Hahn-Kline and Thomas Eaton 

Outstanding Junior: Amanda Fuschetti and Ben Rubert     

Outstanding (senior) Future Professional: Bre Grove  

Outstanding Fall 2016 Student Teachers: Adrienne Puglia, Andrew Przekurat 

Outstanding Spring 2017 Student Teachers: Sarah Houde and Emily Day

Outstanding Service in Health and Physical Education: Kyle Grove 

Outstanding Student in the HPE Field Experience: Kelly (Harsh) Mason 

Outstanding Student in Health Education: Blaze Buckwalter 

The recipients of the following scholarships have excelled in their academic major of Health and Physical Education and overall. Because they are active in the profession and in the community and showing tremendous potential to be extremely effective teachers, they were awarded with these specific scholarships.

Violet Baumgardner Award (state association award): Shane Miller

Jean F. Deobold Memorial Scholarship: Casey Taylor

Catherine and Leon de Wette Memorial Scholarship: Justin Rowand

Dr. Dora Vandine Physical Education Scholarship: Jonathan Waltermire

Elizabeth Zimmerli Scholarship: Amanda Fuschetti

Nadine Zimmerman ’55 Scholarship: Chris Racano

Gold Whistle Awards were presented to students whom the HPE faculty agreed had achieved academic excellence, exemplified the philosophy and goals of the department, contributed professionally to the department, university, and community.  These students also demonstrated a high level of professional commitment and growth, leadership skills and have shown the potential for becoming an outstanding Health and Physical Education professional.  Recipients of

Gold Whistle Award Winners: Ryan Brooks, Blaze Buckwalter, Zak Herman, Bre Grove, Shane Miller, Casey Taylor

Finally, the past officers of the HPE student majors club (LHUAHPERD) were recognized:

President: Kaitlyn Riley

Vice President: Ben Rubert

Treasurer: Chris Racano

Secretary: Joelle Wysong

Public Relations: Kim Klinger

For more information on Lock Haven University, visit, email, or call (570) 484.2011.

Lock Haven University is a member of Pennsylvania’s State System, the largest provider of higher education in the Commonwealth. Its 14 universities offer more than 2,300 degree and certificate programs in more than 530 academic areas of study. Nearly 520,000 system alumni live and work in Pennsylvania.                        

Questions About the Article?

Executive Director of Strategic Communications

Elizabeth Arnold
213 Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center
(570) 484-2293

Contact our Admissions Office

8:00am to 4:00pm Monday-Friday
(570) 484-2027

Connect with Admissions Online

Not PrinceFaxMail PhoneSearchFacebook GitHub InstagramKickStarterLinkedInPinterestRedditRSSTumblrTwitterVineWordPressYouTube