alt text
LHU News

LHU hosts 61st annual Natural Sciences Convocation

Science Image
Shown are LHU students who recently received awards during the 61st annual Natural Sciences Convocation. Back row from left, are Jacob Watson, Kiersten Lloyd, Austin Craig and Hudson Werner. Front row from left, are Kayla Forlenza, Amber LeGrelius, Lydia Delp, McKenzie Heinbaugh, Dustin Hassenmayer and Kenneth Whitty.

The 61st annual Lock Haven University Natural Sciences Convocation was held on Nov. 12 in the Ulmer Hall Planetarium. The event is organized by the Natural Sciences Departments at LHU, which include Biology, Chemistry, Geology and Physics, to celebrate the academic achievements of students in the sciences.

The welcome was given by Dr. Shonah Hunter, a professor in the Biology Department who also served as the emcee for the event. Opening remarks were given by Dr. Ron Darbeau, provost and vice president of academic affairs.

The keynote speaker was Jennie McMahon, who graduated from LHU cum laude in 1992 with a bachelor's degree in biology/chemistry and is a supervisory DNA analyst in the Armed Forces Medical Examiner System, Dept. of Defense DNA Operations at Dover Air Force Base in Delaware. The title of her presentation was "Fulfilling our Nation's Promise: Human Identification Using DNA."

Awards for academic achievement were present to students in biological sciences, chemistry, geology and physics. Students receiving awards were:

  • Austin Craig, of Bellefonte, Intermediate General Physics Award
  • Dustin Hassenmayer, of Dingmans Ferry, Intermediate General Physics Award
  • McKenzie Heinbaugh, of Mercersburg, Physics I and II Award
  • Tanner Walter, of New Columbia, Principles of Geology Award
  • Hudson Werner, of Allenwood, Advancement in Geology Award
  • Kenneth Whitty, of Renovo, Dr. Donald and Linda Green Geology Scholarship
  • Kayla Forlenza, of Exeter, Biology Honors Award
  • Amber LaGrelius, of Lebanon, Pennsylvania, Biology Honors Award
  • Lydia Delp, of Benton, Hunter-Harnishfeger Scholarship
  • Shayla Graham, of Blanchard, Paul F. & Shirley R. Klens Biology Scholarship
  • Kiersten Lloyd, of Red Lion, Principles of Biology Award
  • Amber LaGrelius, of Lebanon, Pennsylvania, Mary Pursell Award in Genetics
  • Jacob Watson, of Mill Hall, Alfred Hoberman Chemistry Scholarship
  • Anna Cowfer, of Renovo, Rose Witt Kleinman Scholarship

The convocation committee was chaired by Hunter and also included Dr. Brent May, Dr. Kurt Rublein, Dr. Jennifer Bandura, Dr. Dan Spooner and Cheryl Karstetter. 

For more information on Lock Haven University, visit, email, or call 570-484-2011. 

Lock Haven University’s main campus is located on the West Branch of the Susquehanna River in the scenic mountains of Pennsylvania. The university offers 49 undergraduate majors and certifications with 47 minors and five graduate programs.

LHU is a member of Pennsylvania’s State System, the largest provider of higher education in the Commonwealth. Its 14 universities offer more than 2,300 degree and certificate programs in more than 530 academic areas of study. Nearly 520,000 system alumni live and work in Pennsylvania.

Questions About the Article?

Executive Director of Strategic Communications

Elizabeth Arnold
213 Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center
(570) 484-2293

Contact our Admissions Office

8:00am to 4:00pm Monday-Friday
(570) 484-2027

Connect with Admissions Online

Not PrinceFaxMail PhoneSearchFacebook GitHub InstagramKickStarterLinkedInPinterestRedditRSSTumblrTwitterVineWordPressYouTube