alt text
LHU News

Lock Haven University 2022 Faculty Awards Announced

Faculty Awards 2022

Jennifer Deitloff (left) and Marjorie Maddox Hafer (right)

The Lock Haven University Faculty Awards for 2022 were presented to Dr. Jennifer Deitloff, recipient of the Outstanding Service Award, and Marjorie Maddox Hafer, recipient of the Outstanding Scholarship Award.

To be considered for the Service Award, applicants provided a narrative that detailed the following areas of service: departmental, APSCUF, university and community service, as well as any samples of their work.

To be considered for the Scholarship Award, applicants provided a narrative that detailed the following areas of scholarship and how it impacted their field of study: Publications; presentations; new courses, new programs, or similar curricular development projects; professional growth and development, research; and any relevant samples of their work.

"I congratulate Dr. Deitloff and professor Maddox Hafer on this well-deserved recognition and thank both of them for their commitment to our students," said Bashar W. Hanna, president. "Student success is our highest priority. The dedication, support, and mentorship our faculty demonstrate to students helps them to achieve their goals and realize their academic and professional aspirations,"

Deitloff has been a member of the LHU Biology department since fall 2014. She is involved with multiple university, APSCUF, and departmental service groups as well as serving as the chair of the Faculty Professional Development Committee, chair of the Safe Zone Committee, and an advisory board member of the HOPE Center.

"When choosing service activities, I keep these two goals in mind: How can I work to create a safe and welcoming community for students, and how can I work to create a positive environment for faculty or other members of the community," Deitloff said.

She is a society and subcommittee member of all three scientific societies that focus on herpetology, and serves on the board of two. Since 2020, she has served as the co-chair of a new Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee for one of the societies.

She also has co-authored several symposia proposals and recently had approved a National Science Foundation grant proposal to hold a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion symposium at the Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (JMIH).

Deitloff has served on the board of the Clinton County Arts Council (CCAC) and volunteered at the Station Gallery.

Maddox Hafer joined the LHU English department in fall 1990. She co-chairs LHU's Pennsylvania Authors Reading Series, UpWrite Reading Series, and Write Now! Reading Series and in the past has served as advisor to the English Club and The Crucible, LHU's literary and arts journal.

An award-winning author, Sage Graduate Fellow of Cornell University (MFA), and teaching fellow at the University of Louisville, Maddox Hafer has published 13 collections of poetry, a short story collection, and four children's books, as well as co-edited a poetry anthology with Bloomsburg University professor Jerry Wemple.

She is the recipient of LHU's 2012 Honors Professor of the Year, the 2007 Collaboration and Teamwork Award for Celebration of Scholarship, the 2004 Faculty Scholarship Award, as well as Pushcart Prize nominations in both poetry and fiction, nominations for LHU's Woman of Distinction, two fellowships to the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and a Bread Loaf writing scholarship. She gives readings and workshops around the country. Her website is

"As I look back over 30-plus years at LHU, I am especially proud of mentoring so many diverse and creative students and, through the Reading Series, bringing students together with over 150 internationally known poets, novelists, and playwrights, authors who have inspired and changed students' lives," Maddox Hafer said. "With this award, I also celebrate students' successes as they continue to publish books, produce plays, edit magazines, teach others, and, in so many ways, enhance their communities."

Questions About the Article?

Assistant Director of Strategic Communications

Julie Stellfox
214 Durrwachter Alumni Conference Center
(570) 484-2280

Contact our Admissions Office

8:00am to 4:30pm Monday-Friday
(570) 484-2027

Connect with Admissions Online

Not PrinceFaxMail PhoneSearchFacebook GitHub InstagramKickStarterLinkedInPinterestRedditRSSTumblrTwitterVineWordPressYouTube